2021 National Rowing Hall of Fame® Inductions

1 October 2021

The National Rowing Foundation (NRF) has announced the 2021 National Rowing Hall of Fame® inductees. The Induction Ceremony will occur at the National Rowing Foundation – National Team Reunion at 4:00 p.m. on 23 October at the Head of the Charles Regatta.

The inductees are:

1996 Olympic Coach of the Silver Medal Quadruple Sculls – the late Igor Grinko. Igor entered the United States after the collapse of the Soviet Union and became U.S. National Sculling Coach. His 1996 U.S. Quadruple Sculls captured the Olympic Silver Medal, the first medal ever for the United States in this event. He will join the 1996 U.S. Olympic Quadruple Sculls who were inducted into the National Rowing Hall of Fame in 2016.

Outstanding Athlete – Christine Smith Collins. Christine was a member of seven United States National Rowing Teams from 1991 through 2000. She won five World Championship medals and the 2000 Olympic Bronze Medal rowing in the Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls.

Outstanding Athlete – Bryan Volpenhein. Bryan was a member of ten United States National Rowing Teams from 1998 through 2008. He competed at eight World Championships winning five medals of which three were Gold. He also competed at three Olympic Games and won a Gold Medal in 2004 and a Bronze Medal in 2008 rowing both times in the stroke seat in the U.S. National Eight.

Outstanding Crew – The 1984 Olympic U.S. Men’s Eight captured the Olympic Silver Medal: #1 – Walter “Chip” Lubsen, #2 – the late Andrew Sudduth, #3 – John Terwilliger, #4 – Christopher Penny, #5 – Thomas Darling, #6 – Fred Borchelt, #7 – Charles Clapp, #8 – Bruce Ibbetson, Coxswain – Robert Jaugstetter, Coach – Kris Korzeniowski.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.