2021 World Rowing Sustainability Award

The 2019 World Rowing Sustainability Award went to the Spring Creek Regeneration Project – Kinross Wolaroi School in Australia. No award was handed out in 2020 due to the pandemic.

30 June 2021

The public nomination process for the 2021 World Rowing Sustainability Award has opened, World Rowing writes on their website.

Safeguarding the environment has become increasingly critical and World Rowing wants to acknowledge this. The 2021 Sustainability Award is World Rowing’s chance to recognise what you are doing to help the environment.

The World Rowing Sustainability Award is back for the third time after COVID-19 prevented a 2020 Award taking place. This means that award nominations can include projects that happened last year as well as this year. They can also include projects that are underway but not completed.

In 2019, the Sustainability Award was won by the Spring Creek Regeneration Project – Kinross Wolaroi School, Australia. Spearheaded by the school’s rowing club, the project restored the health of the Spring Creek reservoir.

“Our mandate is to own the project, educate our students and to run regeneration days at the site with rowers and their families,” said Spring Creek Regeneration project lead Tobias Wehr-Candler.

The Award is open to rowing member federations, clubs, event organising committees or other rowing organisations that have implemented an innovative project to deliver a positive sustainability impact, or that have demonstrated sound sustainability practices on an ongoing basis.

The organisation can be nominated by its own members or another individual or organisation.

The winner of the Award will be selected by the sustainability panel, made up of representatives of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Sustainability Department, WWF International and World Rowing President Jean-Christophe Rolland and a Kafue River and Rowing Centre Ambassador.

Nominations will close 25 November 2021. The finalists will be announced 13 December and then the winner will be announced during the World Rowing Award Ceremony in January 2022.

Nominate here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.