U.S. Crews Going to Tokyo

USRowing’s website

11 June 2021

USRowing has announced the rowers who will represent the United States at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo, pending final approval from the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee.

The U.S. will send nine crews to the Olympics, including the women’s single sculls, women’s double sculls, lightweight women’s double sculls, women’s quadruple sculls, women’s pair, women’s four, men’s four, women’s eight and men’s eight. The U.S. is the only country to qualify all seven of its women’s boats.

Of the 37 athletes, there are 11 returning Olympians with six Olympic medals amongst them. Twenty-eight have competed on previous senior national teams, while nine will be making their senior team debut.

Megan Kalmoe, a 2012 Olympic bronze medalist in the women’s quadruple sculls, will be competing at her fourth Olympic Games, having raced in 2008 and 2016 as well.

Meghan Musnicki, Gevvie Stone and Ellen Tomek will be competing in their third Olympic Games. Musnicki won gold in the women’s eight in 2012 and 2016. Stone won the silver medal in the women’s single sculls in 2016 and also raced the single in 2012. Tomek made the finals in the women’s double sculls in 2008 and 2016.

Tracy Eisser, Katelin Guregian, Austin Hack, Kara Kohler, Grace Luczak, Meghan O’Leary and Anders Weiss will all be racing in their second Olympics. Guregian won gold in the women’s eight in 2016, while Kohler won bronze in the women’s quad in 2012. Eisser, Hack, Luczak, O’Leary and Weiss were all members of the Rio 2016 Olympic Team.

The U.S. won two medals at the 2016 Olympic Games. The women’s eight won its third-consecutive Olympic title in Rio, while Stone won silver in the women’s single sculls. The women’s pair and men’s eight finished fourth, just missing a medal.

The Olympic Games in Tokyo 2020 will be held on 23 July-9 August, with rowing events slated to start on the morning of 23 July.

The Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 are scheduled to take place 24 August-5 September, with para rowing events starting 27 August. Three of the para boats have already been selected, with the remaining boat being named on 18 June. A full Paralympic roster will be announced after the final boat is selected.

2020 Olympic Team Roster

Name (Boat Position) (Hometown/University)
(Lineups subject to change)

Women’s Single Sculls
Kara Kohler (Clayton, Calif./University of California, Berkeley)

Women’s Double Sculls
Gevvie Stone (s) (Newton, Mass/Princeton University)
Kristi Wagner (b) (Weston, Mass./Yale University)

Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
Michelle Sechser (s) (Folsom, Calif./University of Tulsa)
Molly Reckford (b) (Short Hills, N.J./Dartmouth College)

Women’s Pair
Tracy Eisser (s) (Fair Lawn, N.J./Cornell University)
Megan Kalmoe (b) (St. Croix Falls, Wis./University of Washington)

Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Ellen Tomek (s) (Flushing, Mich./University of Michigan)
Meghan O’Leary (3) (Baton Rouge, La./University of Virginia)
Alie Rusher (2) (West Bend, Wis./Stanford University)
Cicely Madden (b) (Weston, Mass./Brown University)

Women’s Four
Grace Luczak (s) (Ann Arbor, Mich./Stanford University)
Kendall Chase (3) (Evergreen, Colo./University of California, Berkeley)
Claire Collins (2) (McLean, Va./Princeton University)
Madeleine Wanamaker (b) (Neenah, Wis./University of Wisconsin)

Men’s Four
Clark Dean (s) (Sarasota, Fla./Harvard University)
Michael Grady (3) (Pittsburgh, Pa./Cornell University)
Anders Weiss (2) (Barrington, R.I./Brown University)
Andrew Reed (b) (Wayland, Mass./Harvard University)

Women’s Eight
Katelin Guregian (c) (Detroit, Mich./University of Washington)
Olivia Coffey (s) (Watkins Glen, N.Y./Harvard University)
Charlotte Buck (7) (Nyack, N.Y./Columbia University)
Meghan Musnicki (6) (Naples, N.Y./Ithaca College)
Brooke Mooney (5) (Peru, Vt./University of Washington)
Gia Doonan (4) (Rochester, Mass./University of Texas)
Kristine O’Brien (3) (Massapequa Park, N.Y./University of Virginia)
Jessica Thoennes (2) (Highlands Ranch, Colo./University of Washington)
Regina Salmons (b) (Methuen, Mass./University of Pennsylvania)

Men’s Eight
Julian Venonsky (c) (Malvern, Pa./University of California, Berkeley)
Liam Corrigan (s) (Old Lyme, Conn./Harvard University)
Conor Harrity (7) (Weston, Mass./Harvard University)
Nick Mead (6) (Strafford, Pa./Princeton University)
Alexander Richards (5) (Watertown, Mass./Harvard University)
Austin Hack (4) (Old Lyme, Conn./Stanford University)
Alex Miklasevich (3) (Pittsburgh, Pa./Brown University)
Justin Best (2) (Kennett Square, Pa./Drexel University)
Ben Davison (b) (Inverness, Fla./University of Washington)

Alternates (Spares)
Molly Bruggeman (Dayton, Ohio/University of Notre Dame)
Alex Karwoski (Moultonborough, N.H./Cornell University)
Vicki Opitz (Middleton, Wis./University of Wisconsin)

Coaching Staff
Kate Bertko – Women’s Pair
Casey Galvanek – Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
Hilary Gehman – Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Laurel Korholz – Women’s Single Sculls, Women’s Four
Tim McLaren – Men’s Four
Gregg Stone – Women’s Double Sculls
Tom Terhaar – Women’s Eight
Mike Teti – Men’s Eight

Support Staff
Maeve Berry – Press Officer
Matthew Collins – Team Doctor
Will Daly – Staff
Liz Fusco – Dietician
Matt Imes – High Performance Director
Brett Johnson – Press Officer
Alicia Lamb – Physical Therapist
Deirdre McLoughlin – Physical Therapist
Marc Nowak – Physical Therapist
Wendy Wilbur – Staff
Michael Zimmer – Team Leader

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.