The 2021 Australian Championships

View of Lake Barrington. Photo: Rowing Australia

26 March 2021

By Louis Petrin

Sadly, many regattas are being cancelled around the world so if you need a fix, the Australian Rowing Championships are currently underway for 2021, being held at Lake Barrington in beautiful Tasmania. The last time Nationals were held there was in March 2009, so these championships will be most welcomed by the locals.

Australia is a lucky country, being almost free of COVID-19 for a number of weeks now which has meant we have been having various regattas. Now we are getting to pointy end of the racing year with Nationals.

The championships, which started on 22 March, have 1,599 athletes racing over seven days, with 1,309 entries into the 129 events in the program, which has 468 races scheduled.

The pandemic that struck in early 2020, saw last year’s Nationals cancelled, so it has been with great anticipation that the rowing community has travelled to compete and spectate at Lake Barrington.

View the penultimate race, the Queen’s Cup, preceded by the King’s Cup, live this Sunday, March 28. Racing for the various Interstate events start at 1 p.m. (Hobart Time) and the final race at 3:20 p.m. from this link.

I understand it is early Sunday morning at 2 a.m. in London, but it is only 10 p.m. in New York or 7 p.m. in Los Angeles on Saturday night. 

Instead of old YouTube clips, enjoy real and exciting rowing races!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.