Finalists for the 2019 World Rowing Awards

14 October 2019

Today, FISA, World Rowing, announced the finalists for the 2019 World Rowing Awards.

Following public nomination, the FISA Executive Committee selected the finalists based on the analysis of the expert panels created for each of the awards.

The finalists for the 2019 World Rowing Awards:

Thomas Keller Medal – for a rower who has had a long and successful rowing career and who has made an outstanding contribution to rowing as a competitor and as a sports personality.

Kim Brennan (Australia)
Ekaterina Karsten (Belarus)
James Cracknell (Great Britain)
Pete Reed (Great Britain)
Andrew Triggs Hodge (Great Britain)

Filippi Spirit Award – for a university rower who has demonstrated the core values of rowing in his/her social, academic and sporting life and, through these values, also enabled or inspired exceptional success in other people’s lives.

Ria Thompson (Australia)
Jean Maillard (France)
Ronan Byrne (Ireland)
Nicholas Perovich (United States)

World Rowing Sustainability Award – for an organisation that has implemented an innovative project or initiative delivering a clear and positive sustainability impact.

Spring Creek Regeneration Project (Australia)
2018 World Rowing Coastal Championships (Canada)
Wintech: Clean air, water and solar power(China)
Rowers Against Rubbish (Great Britain)
Developing Environmental Ambassadors (Japan)

World Rowing Para-rowing Crew of the Year
Kathryn Ross (Australia), Para PR2 Women’s Single Sculls
Ellen Buttrick, Giedre Rakauskaite, James Fox, Oliver Stanhope and Erin Wysocki-Jones (Great Britain), Para PR3 Mixed Coxed Four
Lauren Rowles and Laurence Whiteley (Great Britain), Para PR2 Mixed Double Sculls
Birgit Skarstein (Norway), Para PR1 Women’s Single Sculls
Roman Polianskyi (Ukraine), Para PR1 Men’s Single Sculls

World Rowing Men’s Crew of the Year
Zhiyu Liu and Liang Zhang (China), Men’s Double Sculls
Valent Sinkovic and Martin Sinkovic (Croatia), Men’s Pair
Oliver Zeidler (Germany), Men’s Single Sculls
Paul O’Donovan and Fintan McCarthy (Ireland), Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls
Dirk Uittenbogaard, Abe Wiersma, Tone Wieten and Koen Metsmakers (The Netherlands), Men’s Quadruple Sculls

World Rowing Women’s Crew of the Year
Olympia Aldersey, Katrina Werry, Sarah Hawe and Lucy Stephan (Australia), Women’s Four
Yunxia Chen, Ling Zhang, Yang Lyu and Xiaotong Cui (China), Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Sanita Puspure (Ireland), Women’s Single Sculls
Zoe McBride and Jackie Kiddle (New Zealand), Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
Grace Prendergast and Kerry Gowler (New Zealand), Women’s Pair

World Rowing Coach of the Year
Bernd Nennhaus (Germany), junior rowing crews
Tom Dyson (Great Britain), Para-rowing coach
Eelco Meenhorst (The Netherlands), men’s sculling head coach
Gary Hay (New Zealand), women’s head coach
Johan Flodin (Norway), head coach

This is the second year of bringing all the awards together into one ceremony. The ceremony will take place at the World Rowing Awards dinner on 22 November 2019 when the winners will be announced. This will be during the World Rowing Coaches Conference in London, Great Britain.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.