FISA Announces the Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Awards

Magdalena Fularczyk-Kozlowska, Natalia Madaj
Magdalena Fularczyk-Kozlowska, Natalia Madaj, of Poland, finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Female Crew of the Year.

10 November 2016, FISA, that is, has announced the finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Awards. It is, as FISA writes, like reading ‘a who’s who in the sport of rowing’. FISA continues to write:

The high calibre list has been narrowed down following a public nomination process which closed on 9 October. The public nominations then went to the World Rowing Federation, FISA Council, who selected the finalists.

Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Female Crew of the Year
Heather Stanning
, Helen Glover, Great Britain, women’s pair
Emily Regan, Kerry Simmonds, Amanda Polk, Lauren Schmetterling, Tessa Gobbo, Meghan Musnicki, Eleanor Logan, Amanda Elmore, Katelin Snyder (coxswain), United States, women’s eight
Kimberley Brennan, Australia, women’s single sculls
Magdalena Fularczyk-Kozlowska, Natalia Madaj, Poland, women’s double sculls
Annekatrin Thiele, Carina Baer, Julia Lier, Lisa Schmidla, Germany, women’s quadruple sculls

Photo: FISA

Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Male Crew of the Year
Pierre Houin
, Jeremie Azou, France, lightweight men’s double sculls (on the right)
Eric Murray, Hamish Bond, New Zealand, men’s pair
Lucas Tramer, Simon Schuerch, Simon Niepmann, Mario Gyr, Switzerland, lightweight men’s four
Mahe Drysdale, New Zealand, men’s single sculls
Martin Sinkovic, Valent Sinkovic, Croatia, men’s double sculls

Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Para Crew of the Year
Birgit Skarstein
, Norway, para women’s single sculls
Rachel Morris, Great Britain, para women’s single sculls
Grace Clough, Daniel Brown, Pamela Relph, James C. Fox, James Oliver (coxswain), Great Britain, para mixed coxed four
Roman Polianskyi, Ukraine, para men’s single sculls
Lauren Rowles, Laurence Whiteley, Great Britain, para mixed double sculls

Finalists for the 2016 Coach of the Year
Alexis Besancon
, France
Dominic Casey, Ireland
Noel Donaldson, New Zealand
Jürgen Gröbler, Great Britain
Roger Barrow, South Africa
Nikola Bralic, Croatia 

Photo: British Rowing
Photo: British Rowing

Finalists for the 2016 World Rowing Distinguished Services to International Rowing
Ron Needs
, Great Britain
Magdalena Sarbochova, Czech Republic
Mike Spracklen, Great Britain
John Boultbee, Australia
Reinhold Batschi, Australia
Annamarie Phelps, Great Britain (on the right)

The award winners will be announced on 2 December 2016. The winners will then be honoured on 28 January 2017 at a gala dinner during the 2016 World Rowing Coaches Conference in Vancouver, Canada.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.