The Winners of this year’s Cross British Sports Book Awards

Gareth Thomas with his Cross Autobiography Award for his book Proud.

4 June 2015 Cross British Sports Book Awards Press Release:

The troubled life stories of two gay sportsmen have triumphed at the CROSS British Sports Book Awards. Proud, the inspirational autobiography of former Welsh rugby star, Gareth Thomas, has won the prestigious Autobiography of the Year, while Alone, the biography of Olympic ice-skater, John Curry, written by Bill Jones, won the award for Outstanding Sports Writing, which was presented by Robin Cousins.

Eight other category winners were announced at the prestigious ceremony held in the evening on 3 June at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London, hosted by Jonathan Agnew and Alison Mitchell, and attended by stars from the world of sport including Tony Adams, Nicole Cooke, Will Greenwood, Simon Jones, Brian Moore, Andrew Strauss and Gareth Thomas. Also, in attendance was Jane Ellison MP, Minister for Public Health, who spoke about the importance of physical activity in everyday life, and praised the work of organisations such as the Dallaglio Foundation, which was the chosen charity for the evening.

She said “It is fantastic to see so many inspirational sporting role models here. We as a nation need to make physical activity part of our everyday lives, right across the age spectrum, and sport has a vital role to play in this. The social aspects of being involved in sport are also hugely important in combating loneliness and isolation.” Lawrence Dallaglio, the former England rugby captain, who founded the charity, also spoke. Highlights from the event will be broadcast in a one-hour long programme on Sky Sports on:

Sky Transmission times (subject to change):
Saturday 6: 09.30 on Sky Sports 4 and 13.00 on Sky Sports 2
Sunday 7: 11.30 on Sky Sports 2 and 19.00 on Sky Sports 5

A special award for Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing was presented to Sir Michael Parkinson CBE who accepted the award from his publisher of 30 years, Roddy Bloomfield, after emotional tributes from Geoffrey Boycott, and former umpire, Dickie Bird, with whom he once opened the batting at Barnsley Cricket Club.

Other winners on the night included Matt Dickinson, who won Biography of the Year for
Bobby Moore: The Man in Full; Peter Oborne, who won Cricket Book of the Year, for
Wounded Tiger: The History of Cricket in Pakistan; and James Montague, who won the Football Book of the Year for Thirty-One Nil: On the Road With Football’s Outsiders.

The first recipient of the new Cycling Book of the Year was Herbie Sykes for The Race Against the Stasi, which told the incredible story of East German cyclist, Dieter Wiedemann. Rugby Book of the Year went to Richard Parks for Beyond the Horizon, and Horse Racing Book of the Year to Cheltenham et al: The Best of Alastair Down.

The New Writer of the Year award went to Anna Krien for Night Games, her exposé of the macho culture in Aussie rules football, while The Age of Innocence: Football in the 1970s, edited by Reuel Golden, won the Illustrated Book of the Year.

Each of the 10 winning titles is now put to an online public vote to determine the Overall CROSS British Sports Book of the Year in association with The Times. The vote, sponsored by National Book Tokens, will be held on the official website – with a prize draw of £100 National Book Tokens. The vote remains open until Tuesday, 16 June, with the winner announced shortly after.

Autobiography of the Year Sponsored by Cross
Winner: PROUD Gareth Thomas Ebury

Biography of the Year Sponsored by The Times
BOBBY MOORE: The Man in Full Matt Dickinson Yellow Jersey

Football Book of the Year Sponsored by Talksport
THIRTY-ONE NIL James Montague Bloomsbury

Rugby Book of the Year Sponsored by Robert Walters
BEYOND THE HORIZON Richard Parks Sphere

Cricket Book of the Year Sponsored by Littlehampton Book Services
WOUNDED TIGER: The History of Cricket in Pakistan Peter Oborne Simon & Schuster

Horse Racing Book of the Year Sponsored by Procorre
CHELTENHAM ET AL Alastair Down Racing Post

Cycling Book of the Year Sponsored by Human Race

Outstanding Sports Writing Sponsored by Freshtime
ALONE Bill Jones Bloomsbury

New Writer of the Year Sponsored by Sky Sports
NIGHT GAMES Anna Krien Yellow Jersey

Illustrated Book of the Year Sponsored by Arbuthnot Latham
THE AGE OF INNOCENCE Ed: Reuel Golden Taschen

Also presented on the night:
Sports Retailer of the Year Sponsored by Orion Publishing Group
Winner: Waterstones
Publicity Campaign of the Year Sponsored by Cubism Law
Elizabeth Allen (Weidenfeld & Nicolson), with Jane Beaton from Kew Publicity, for
The Second Half by Roy Keane with Roddy Doyle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.