2018 World Rowing Award Finalists

Perle Bouge, of France, has been nominated to the 2018 Para-rowing Crew of the Year by FISA.

30 October 2018

In a press release, FISA, Worldrowing, announced the 2018 World Rowing Award finalists yesterday.

Public nomination drew over 1,000 submissions for this year’s awards. The public nominations then went to World Rowing’s expert nominations panel and individual judging panels before the finalists were decided by the FISA Executive Committee.

Joining the World Rowing Awards for 2018 is the Sustainability Award. This award acknowledges those who endeavour to safeguard the environment in which rowing takes place and help their local environment.

Finalists for the 2018 World Rowing Award:

Women’s Crew of the Year
Caileigh Filmer and Hillary Janssens (Canada), pair
Sanita Puspure (Ireland), single sculls
Agnieszka Kobus-Zawojska, Marta Wieliczko, Maria Springwald and Katarzyna Zillmann (Poland), quadruple sculls

Men’s Crew of the Year
Joshua Hicks, Spencer Turrin, Jack Hargreaves and Alexander Hill (Australia), four
Jason Osborne (Germany), lightweight single sculls
Johannes Weissenfeld, Felix Wimberger, Maximilian Planer, Torben Johannesen, Jakob Schneider, Malte Jakschik, Richard Schmidt, Hannes Ocik and Martin Sauer (Germany), eight
Paul O’Donovana and Gary O’Donovan (Ireland), lightweight double sculls

Para-rowing Crew of the Year
Perle Bouge (France), Para PR2 women’s single sculls
Ellen Buttrick, Grace Clough, Oliver Stanhope, Daniel Brown and Erin Wysocki-Jones (Great Britain), Para PR3 mixed coxed four
Annika van der Meer and Corne de Koning (the Netherlands), Para PR2 mixed double sculls

Coach of the Year
Uwe Bender (Germany), men’s eight
Dominic Casey (Ireland), men’s pair, lightweight men’s and women’s double sculls, lightweight men’s quadruple sculls
Jan Klerks (the Netherlands), Para-rowing team
Laurel Korholz (United States), women’s four, women’s single sculls

2018 Sustainability Award
“Pushing for a Clean Sweep”, National Schools Regatta (Great Britain)
“Partnership with Waikato Water Authority”, Rowing NZ (New Zealand)
“Love Where you Row”, Alan Robinson – Schuylkill Navy/Head of the Schuylkill (United States)

The winners will be announced on Friday, 23 November 2018, at the World Rowing Awards dinner in Berlin, Germany. This will be held during the 2018 World Rowing Sports Medicine, Science and Coaches Conference and 2018 FISA National Federations Conference.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.