Not to be Missed: 2017 Golden Oars Awards Gala

12 October 2017

On 15 November, at the New York Athletic Club in New York City, USRowing and the National Rowing Foundation (NRF) will co-host the Golden Oars Awards Gala with dinner. This is the seventh year the American rowing community celebrates and honours its own. Proceeds from the dinner benefit the NRF, which supports the U.S. national teams. For tickets, sponsorship opportunities and more information, click here.

The prestigious annual awards will be presented at the gala and at the USRowing Annual Convention Awards Reception on 2 December in Sarasota, Florida.

The following individuals will be honored for their contributions to the sport of rowing:

USRowing Medal of Honor – Jim Joy
John Carlin Service Award – T. Gary Rogers
Jack Kelly Award – John Chatzky
Jack Franklin Award – Tom Fuller
Anita DeFrantz Award – Arshay Cooper
Isabel Bohn Award – Jeff McGinnis
Clayton Chapman Award – Jim Buckalew
Man of the Year – Randy Benderson
Ernestine Bayer Award – Yasmin Farooq
Joan Zandbergen “Mama Z” Award – Tiffany Knapp
Julian Wolf Award – John Musial

A presentation of the winners is here.

On 9 October, USRowing announced that Ellen Tomek and Andrew Reed had been selected as the 2017 USRowing Female and Male Athletes of the Year, respectively. Tomek and Reed will also receive their awards at the Golden Oars Awards Gala.

For more information about the 2017 Golden Oars Awards Gala, click here. For more information about the USRowing Annual Convention, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.