2011 FISA World Rowing Awards

In a press release, FISA, the International Rowing Federation, has named the winners of the 2011 World Rowing Awards for Coach of the Year, Female Crew of the Year, Male Crew of the Year, Adaptive Crew of the Year, and Distinguished Services to Rowing.

“Following public nomination which attracted nearly 2,000 submissions, the final selection of awardees was made by the Executive Committee of FISA,” the organisation writes on its website. The winners were announced at the World Rowing Coaches Conference Gala Dinner in Varese, Italy, last Friday.

Greece took two of the awards: the Coach of the Year Award, which goes to Gianni Postiglione (seen up on the right), and the Female Crew of the Year, which goes to Christina Giazitzidou and Alexandra Tsiavou who are rowing in the lightweight’s double sculls.

The World Rowing Male Crew of the Year goes to New Zealand’s pair Eric Murray and Hamish Bond. Alla Lysenko (seen above) of Ukraine was awarded the World Rowing Adaptive Crew of the Year, while Ricardo Ibarra of Argentina is this year’s recipient of the World Rowing Distinguished Service to International Rowing Award.

Read more about these athletes here.

(Photographs from WorldRowing.com)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.