The National Rowing Hall of Fame Class of 2014


On Saturday, 31 May 2014, seventeen women and men will be inducted into the National Rowing Foundation’s Rowing Hall of Fame. In a comment, Kent Mitchell, Chair of the NRF Hall of Fame Selection Committee, said:

The Class of 2014 being honored for induction into our Rowing Hall of Fame embodies the achievement in performance, dedication, persistence and contribution to rowing necessary to earn this recognition. In 96 appearances over multiple years in Olympic Games and World Championship competition, these men and women have won 71 medals, 64 of them gold, and rowed their way into the grand finals 94% of the time. Hall of Fame induction standards are demanding, each of these honorees has met those standards by “open water”.

The individual athletes of the 2014 Class are: Porter Collins, Yasmin “Yaz” Farooq, James Koven, Garrett Miller, Tom Welsh and Michael Wherley.

One entire crew and their coach are also being inducted, the 2008 Olympic Champions in the Women’s Eight: Erin Cafaro, Lindsay Shoop, Anna Goodale, Eleanor Logan, Anna Mickelson Cummins, Susan Francia, Caroline Lind, Caryn Davies, Mary Whipple Murray and Coach Tom Terhaar.

Also inducted is a Patron, posthumously, John “Jack” Sulger, a legendary oarsman and coach of the New York Athletic Club, whom Jim Dietz spoke so warmly about at the latest Rowing History Forum held in America, in 2012.

The National Rowing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held at The Princeton Marriott at Forrestal, at 100 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540, on Saturday, 31 May 2014.

To purchase tickets click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.